Malami Abubakar

Nasir el-Rufai (Kaduna), Yahaya Bello (Kogi), and Bello Matawalle (Zamfara), three governors of the ruling All Progressives Congress (APC), upped the ante in the pressure mounted on the Federal Government yesterday by filing a contempt proceeding against the Attorney General of the Federation (AGF), Abubakar Malami, and the Governor of the Central Bank of Nigeria (CBN), Godwin Emefiele.

The APC governors started making covert moves on Sunday to force the Federal Government to comply with the Supreme Court’s order or find a political or out-of-court solution. They did this by pressuring the party leadership to persuade President Muhammadu Buhari to take a softer stance on the naira swap policy before today’s historic Supreme Court session.

Yesterday, a new case was submitted before the Supreme Court in an unexpected turn of events. The AGF and Emefiele were warned in the lawsuit about the repercussions of their continuous disregard for the highest court’s judgment over the currency policy.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *